Nostalgia

Recently I was lucky enough to be one of those selected to play during the World of Warcraft Classic Stress test.  I was also one of the unfortunates that was unable to play during the test period, because I wasn’t able to get in.  This did not frustrate or upset me, in truth I laughed about it.  I understand the need for test like that to check the load of login and play servers to see exactly what they can handle and where changes need to be made.  I was happy that they left the servers up after the stress test.  I was able to login the next day and take a look around.

The first thing that hit me after recreating my main (Bulidar (bul-eh-dar), a Tauren Shaman) was the sense of nostalgia I felt for the old Tauren leveling area.  Now I was not one of those that played during vanilla, but those early zones were mainly unchanged from launch day up until Cataclysm.  It was fun running those old quests again, and its fun seeing some of my old frustrations back into play.  One of the interesting things about shaman from that time period is that we always had to reserve 4 bag slots for totems.  Those totems were necessary for us to cast our totems and you had to complete a quest to gain each one.  In this stress test we only got to the quest for  the earth totem, but it brought back those memories.

I will probably level a character in classic WoW, mainly because I want to see some of the old raids and content that I couldn’t see when I started in Wrath of the Lich King.

Look forward to seeing you in AQ and Naxx.

Posted on May 25, 2019, in Beta, World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.